Participles
.
اطلاعات کاربری
درباره ما
دوستان
خبرنامه
آخرین مطالب
لینکستان
نظر سنجی
دیگر موارد
آمار وب سایت

A Geround is always a noun but Participle can be all parts of speech except noun. The Participle has a linking function and is mainly a written form.i    

Studying hard results in success.           Gerund

Studying hard for the finals, he fell ill.     Participle

Functions of present participle

a) to help form continuous tenses

He is working.i

b) participle adjective

Participle                                                          Geround

walking man                                                       walking stick

crying baby                                                        chewing gum

diving man                                                          diving board

What is important in participle adjectives is the pronounciation. In participle adjectives, the stress is on the second word (man, baby, man) but in gerunds, the stress is on the first word( (walking, chewing, diving).i

c) after specific verbs

c-1. perceptive verbs:    see, hear, notice, watch, ....i

I felt my heart beating hard.i

c-2. causative have

I had them laughing all night.i

c-3. after a group of verbs like :    find, leave, catch

I caught him backbiting me.i

I felt him waiting at the door.i

I found him waiting at the door.i

d) as a reduced adjective clause

The students talking to doctor Ray are my classmates.i

e) as a reduced adverb clause

e-1 .  time:    while , when , after , before , since

While I was crossing the road, I saw Tom

While crossing the road, I saw Tom.i

When I saw him I greeted him. (when is omited for single action, but we keep it for repeated action)i

Seeing him I greated him.i

When you use this car, you should check it.i   SSingle action

Using this car, you should check it.   Repeated action (it means WHENEVER using...)i

After I had talked to him, I said goodbye.       After talking to him, I said goodbye.i

Before I went home, I had bought a newspaper.i      

Before going home, I had bought a newspaper.i

Since I came here, I have had a busy life.      Since coming here, I have had a busy life.i

f) reason  :    because / as / since

Because/ As/ Since he was on leave, he didn't finish the report.i

 Because/ As/ Since being on leave, he didn't finish the report.i

g)  contrast

Although:  Although he was tired, he wanted to continue.  

AAlthough being tired, he wanted to continueAlthough being tired, he wanted to continue.i

In spite of / Despite: In spite of/ Despite the fact that he was tired, he wanted to continue.i

     .....In spite of / Despite being tired, he wanted to continue.i

h)  to join two main clauses

h-1.  to join two simultaneous actions

He ate lunch.  He read the paper.i

Eating lunch, he read the paper.i        Reading the paper, he ate lunch.i

h-2.  to join two actions which happen immediately after one another.i

He opened the drawer. He  took out the money.i

Opening the drawer, he took out the money.i

h-3.  action 2 is a part of or a result of action 1.i

He opened the door, taking out the money.i

She went out slamming the door behind.i

Participles will be continued in the next post 



www.ali.nagheli5000@gmail.com

:: بازدید از این مطلب : 901
|
امتیاز مطلب : 7
|
تعداد امتیازدهندگان : 2
|
مجموع امتیاز : 2
ن :
ت : جمعه 27 بهمن 1391
.
مطالب مرتبط با این پست
می توانید دیدگاه خود را بنویسید


نام
آدرس ایمیل
وب سایت/بلاگ
:) :( ;) :D
;)) :X :? :P
:* =(( :O };-
:B /:) =DD :S
-) :-(( :-| :-))
نظر خصوصی

 کد را وارد نمایید:

آپلود عکس دلخواه:








موضوعات
The only Writer
آرشیو مطالب
مطالب تصادفی
مطالب پربازدید
چت باکس
تبادل لینک هوشمند
پشتیبانی